The Best Fantasy Trilogies for Beginners

Posted by & filed under .

Most first-time readers of the fantasy genre are intimidated by the length and number of books, but there are short series called trilogies that can serve as good introduction to fantasy, such as The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien.


Here are some of the best titles you need to check out.

The Dark Elf Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore

This series is a prequel to the Icewind Dale Trilogy by the same author, which features the dark elf Drizzt Do’Urden. The Dark Elf Trilogy is made up of Homeland, Exile, and Sojourn, which follow Drizzt’s story from his birth until his banishment by his kin.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

The Mistborn Trilogy is the first of the series of books sets in the same universe and consists of The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and Hero of Ages. It introduces a dark world that is ruled by a tyrant for a thousand years.

The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

The lead character of this series is an assassin who has a different way of completing his contracts. The Farseer Trilogy is made up of Assassin’s Apprentice, Royal Assassin, and Assassin’s Quest. If you wish to delve more into Hobb’s works, she has written other novels set in the Realm of the Elderlings, where Farseer Trilogy is also set.

The Fionavar Tapestry by Guy Gavriel Kay


The Fionavar Tapestry is made up of The Summer Tree, The Wandering Fire, and The Darkest Road. It chronicles the adventures of five law students, Liadon, Pwyll, Davor, The Seer, and Guinevere, who were transported by a mage into a world torn by a war.

The Powder Mage Trilogy by Brian McClellan

Consisting of Promise of Blood, The Crimson Campaign, and The Autumn Republic, this series also includes novellas and short stories about Field Marshal Tamas, Taniel, and Adamat. Tamas eliminated the entire cabal and is now purging the noble ranks.

The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

Besides the three novels of this series, which is made up of The Blade Itself, Before They Are Hanged, and Last Argument of Kings, it also includes stand-alone novels and novellas set in the same world. Three major powers vie for control of the land, reminiscent of real-life events in history.

The Prince of Nothing Trilogy by R. Scott Bakker

The trilogy is part of a larger series called The Second Apocalypse, but they serve as a good introduction to the holy war in Earwa. They feature Anasurimbor Kellhus a warrior with extraordinary powers who might also bring the dreaded apocalypse. It includes The Darkness That Comes Before, The Warrior Prophet, and The Thousandfold Thought.

Coldfire Trilogy by C.S. Friedman


The trilogy is set in a distant planet colonized by people from Earth but where the forces of nature constantly challenge humanity’s ability to survive. It introduces the unlikely duo of the warrior priest Damien Vryce and the fallen and dangerous adept Gerald Tarrant. The series consists of Black Sun Rising, When True Night Falls, and Crown of Shadows.

You must be logged in to post a comment. Log in